History of Camp Daggett
Nestled on the west arm of beautiful Walloon Lake in Northwest Michigan, Camp Daggett has served generations of summer campers since its inception in 1925. Having endured the Great Depression and the Second World War, Camp’s longevity stems from superior staffing, a meaningful motto, a dedicated Board of Trustees, and facilities that have evolved to meet the changing needs of the campers and communities we serve.
Walter J. MacMillan, Petoskey resident and teacher, founded Camp Daggett in 1925. “Mac,” as he was called, started a traditional boys’ summer camp located on the site. The daughter of Henry R. Daggett, Harriet S. Harper, in the fall of 1924, donated the 43-acre parcel of land to be used as a summer camp for children. Henry Daggett, a local hardware store owner in Petoskey, brought his Presbyterian Sunday School classes to this property in the late 1890’s. According to Harriet S. Harper, her father believed, “…the children in a community are its richest assets, and its future depends upon the influencing of their lives for good.” It is the duty of Camp Daggett’s Board of Trustees, an organization with members appointed from the bi-county service clubs, to implement the sentiment embodied in Henry R. Daggett’s beliefs.
Currently, the Board of Trustees consists of representatives from local service clubs and at-large representatives from Emmet and Charlevoix counties. Each Board Member works hard to keep their respective clubs/communities informed of Camp Daggett’s progress, and to provide essential support to our efforts of presenting the best services possible to our Northern Michigan communities.
Honoring Henry Daggett and Walter MacMillan’s emphasis on youth, Camp Daggett has adopted and internalized the following Mission Statement which pervades every aspect of camp activity:
A tradition since 1925, of providing quality character building experiences through educational and recreational programs in a safe, fun environment; serving all ages with an emphasis on youth.
Our Motto: “The Other Fellow First”